Al Faisal looks for another top-10 finish at Spa circuit

Having achieved four overall top-ten finishes in the six rounds held so far in the 2019 Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup, Oman's young Al Faisal al Zubair is looking forward to yet another top-ten overall rank when he competes in the seventh round at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium on September 1.

In the previous round in Budapest, Hungary, Al Faisal had secured an overall tenth spot. Consistency has been the hallmark of the Omani driver and he will be looking to maintain his challenge at demanding Spa-Francorchamps circuit.

The BWT Lechner Racing Team driver currently holds overall tenth spot with 32 points in the drivers' championship among 40 competitors.

Speaking ahead of the race, the Omani, who had finished 14th at Spa last year, said, “I think it will be a good race and the plan is to end on a good note with another top-ten spot.”

Al Faisal's BWT Lechner Racing Team colleagues - Julien Andlauer of France and Germany's Michael Ammermüller - are locked in a two-way tussle for the title at this stage of the season with a just a point separating them with Andlauer leading with 85 points.

With four races remaining, Larry ten Voorde of the Netherlands is third with 62.

At the Spa, the training session will be held on Friday with the qualifying scheduled on Saturday.

Unlike many other circuits,  Spa offers the longest track in the race calendar at 7.004km. It has natural gradients, fast sections through woodland and incorporates the famed steep uphill section into Eau-Rouge/Raidillon. The circuit is situated in the municipality of Stavelot in the forests of Belgium’s Ardennes.

Thomas Preining dominated proceedings in 2018, the Austrian driver setting the lap record of 2min 24.935sec where he also claimed pole position and the race win. That fastest lap eclipsed the five-year record of 2min 25.342sec that had been set by Polish driver Kuba Giermaziak.

Overall drivers' championship standings (after round six): 1 Julien Andlauer (85 points), 2 Michael Ammermüller (84), 3 Larry ten Voorde (62), 4

Ayhancan Güven (58), 5 Florian Latorre (57), 6 Mikkel Pedersen (50), 7 Tio Ellinas (45), 8 Jaap van Lagen (43), 9 Jaxon Evans (39), 10  Al Faisal al Zubair (32).

muscat daily recycle